Formed in 2007, The Earthtones have carved out a niche that is entirely their own, blending Laver’s deep love for country, folk and trad jazz with his passion for avant-garde and experimental music. Laver’s originals and arrangements experiment with unusual harmonies, surprising melodies, and challenging rhythms, while always remaining approachable, playful, and fun. The band features some of Toronto’s most versatile and in-demand artists: Alex Samaras (voice), Carrie Wiebe (voice), Jason Logue (trumpet), Laver (saxophones), Michael Smith (banjo), Ali Berkok (piano), Jay Burr (tuba), and Dave MacDougall (drums).

The Earthtones regularly play Toronto’s most venerable jazz institutions and its newest clubs – from The Rex to the Trane Studio to Supermarket. Their debut CD, Worm Songs, was released on the Woods and Waters label in October 2010. You can download the music from CDbaby or, for an actual CD contact Mark Laver himself!